Here I Stand

Today is a big day. Today is one of the reasons why I’m a pastor; it’s definitely the reason I’m a pastor in a Lutheran church. That’s because 484 years ago today, a group of princes in the area we know today as Germany presented their confession to Emperor Charles V in a city called Augsburg. Their confession, which we know as the Augsburg Confession, marks the start of the Lutheran church.

This might seem like minutiae of history, something that only pastors and church history buffs would care anything at all about. But it’s not like that. Today I’m reminded that my spiritual forefathers in the Lutheran church, including Martin Luther himself (who wasn’t at Augsburg because of a price on his head!) — I’m reminded that they stood for something. It wasn’t, “we want our own church” or “we want to do things our way.” It was, “let’s get back to what God actually says in his Word.”

That’s really what the Augsburg Confession does: it points back to the Bible as the true source of everything we need to know about God. For me, I don’t agree with the Augsburg Confession because it’s Lutheran or I’m Lutheran; I agree with it because it is true to God’s Word. And like those people 484 years ago today, I want my church to stand for something, to stand on what God says, on his Word alone.

If you haven’t read it before (and even if you have), today would be a great day to take a look at the Augsburg Confession. There’s a free, online version available to read here. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

