Wait in Hope

We wait in hope for the Lord ; he is our help and our shield. In him our hearts rejoice, for we trust in his holy name. May your unfailing love be with us, Lord , even as we put our hope in you. (Psalm 33:20-22 NIV)

As I write this, my wife is in surgery. It’s ankle surgery, an ankle on which she needed work fifteen years ago, too. She’s had more serious surgeries in her life, but you always feel a little anxious at every one.

But passages like the one above give me comfort. Even as I wait for the results of her surgery, I wait in hope. I have hope that God is going to do what’s best. It’s not hope that’s unsure, but it’s hope that’s solid. I know he’s with her and watching over her. I know he has given skill to the surgeon and the other doctors and nurses. I know he will work out all things for the best. I know this because he’s promised these things (and because I’ve seen the skill of the doctors and nurses in person.)

I also know God will be with her as she recovers. So, I’m not worried. Concerned for my wife, sure. But I’m confident in God’s promises. This isn’t an arrogant confidence, but a quiet and thankful confidence in God’s love.

May that confidence go with you in whatever trials you face!

+++ UPDATE +++

My wife’s surgery is done, and everything went well and according to plan! Praise God from whom all blessings flow! Now, the recovery begins.

2 thoughts on “Wait in Hope

Leave a Reply

