A “Day Off”

As a pastor and a dad, sometimes your day off doesn’t quite work out to be as restful as you’d like. Today, for instance, I had a funeral that I did the service and preached for. This is a task that is a great privilege for me to do, but it’s definitely exhausting.

After the funeral lunch, I met with a fellow pastor for a while. He’s my circuit pastor (sort of like a supervisor for a group of pastors), so it was good to be able to talk with him.

By the time all that was done, I had just a few minutes to take two of my daughters (ages 4 and 2) to the doctor. The appointment went well, but sure enough! They both had strep throat.

Most of this post is being written as I wait to pick up their antibiotics. I’ll then bring those home so they can take them, then it’ll be bed time for all 4 kids. Oh yeah, I’ve just received a text rom my wife telling me that one of our non-sick kids just vomited. Not exactly a restful day off!

Not that I’m complaining. I love being a dad and a pastor, and today included a lot of what I love about both. But still, maybe I can take a little extra time to rest tomorrow.

Or maybe not.

2 thoughts on “A “Day Off”

Leave a Reply

