Other Side of the Pulpit

Yesterday I got to attend church with my family. This might not seem like a big deal, but since I’m a pastor who is pretty much always at the front of church during a service, attending and sitting with my family was definitely a big deal.

Here are some thoughts the service gave me:

› It’s a great blessing to worship with your family. I feel bad for the families that never get to do this; it’s so nice to be one in faith with the people you love.

> Attending a worship service with little kids is really hard. Seriously. I was in charge of our one-year old during the service, and it was a lot of work! Trying to keep her quiet and not letting her bother the people around us. Oh yeah, and trying to pay attention and participate in the service! Wow. I have a lot of respect for all parents coming to worship with young children!

>Having the words to the hymns projected on a screen is very helpful. This relates to the point above. Holding a writhing one-year old while paging through a bulletin or hymnal? Difficult at best and impossible at worst. The screen allowed me to participate in much more of the service. I still think hymnals are an undervalued resource for worship and devotional use, but the screen made a difficult situation much easier.

These experiences on the other side of the pulpit are helpful for when I go back to my home church as pastor. How can I best reach families coming to my church? Even if screens up front probably aren’t a possibility for us right now, the overall experience will help me as I try to help young families at my congregation.

Leave a Reply

