Hanging Up the Robe

Robe Later today my wife, my four daughters, and I will be boarding a plane for a little over a week of vacation in Minnesota. I realize it’s not the warmest vacation destination in January, but we are going to visit family (both my family and my wife’s all live in the Twin Cities area.)

I think regular vacations are important for everyone, and especially for pastors. I know of pastors who literally haven’t taken vacations for years. They imagine they’re somehow being more faithful by their constant work.

Of course, that’s ridiculous. I’ve found that I’m more refreshed and ready for work after vacation. I think I get more work done better when I take vacations than I ever would’ve without them.

So I hang up my robe for awhile, thankful for the blessing of rest.

Leave a Reply

