There’s No Such Thing As a Day Off

Day off?So, how did you spend your long labor day weekend? Did it refresh you for this short week ahead, or do you with it had been longer? This is always interesting to me because, fun-fact: long weekends don’t mean anything to pastors.

It’s true. Think about it: we preach every Sunday, no matter what. (At least if there is only one pastor in the church we do.) I do take a day off every week, and it’s usually Monday, so when everyone has Monday off (like on Labor Day), it’s not really any different for me.  The joke, of course, is that pastors only work one day a week. The reality, though, is that most pastors are lucky if they take one day off a week.

But enough about pastors. This “day off” thing made me realize something about all Christians: For Christians, there’s no such thing as a day off. Sure, you can get  a day off  from work, or you can have more leisure time on some days than others. You can spend more time with your family on some days. You can even put a day aside, such as Sunday, to take extra time to worship God and study his Word. But by no means do you get a day off as a Christian.

The Apostle Paul tells us, Whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. (Col. 3:17) In other words, everything we do as Christians is a reflection of the faith God has worked in us. For me, as an example, everything I do as a father shows my Christian faith. Likewise everything I do as a husband, or as a  pastor, or son, or brother…every part of my life is to reflect my faith. Everything I do, I do in thanks to my Savior who lived, died, and rose for me.

The name for this teaching is Christian vocation. This doesn’t just apply to our jobs, but to every aspect of our lives.  As the Apostle Paul once again put it, Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men. (Col. 3:23)

Christian vocation is one of those topics that probably isn’t discussed (or lived) as much as it should be. But Luther wrote about it, and there are full blogs devoted to it. No matter what, it’s worth thinking about and growing in. The next time you can’t wait for your next day off, remember, there’s no such thing!

Leave a Reply

