Why [Not] Start?

Of making many blogs there is no end, and much blog-reading wearies the body.

Solomon did not write those words in Ecclesiastes.  But, if blogs had been around back then, maybe he would have.

Sometimes it seems like everyone and their uncle has a blog. There are definitely some good ones. I like to read them from time to time. Some I try to check regularly, some I see once in a while. Some I keep in feed-readers and try to read them when a new post comes out. But I have to be honest with you: I’m not good at keeping up with blogs. My attention span for long posts disappears quickly, and I find myself looking for something else all too quickly.

So why am I starting a blog here today? Well, let me tell you why I’m not starting this blog. I’m not doing it because I think that there are multitudes out there who need to hang on my every last word and thought. At the end of the day I’m not all that interesting. And while I hope this blog will be beneficial to some as I write about God’s Word, being a pastor, and being a sinner-saint, I realize it won’t be for everyone all the time.

So why am I starting this blog? Mostly for myself. As a confessional Lutheran pastor in the WELS, I spend a lot of time reading and studying. I’m constantly reading the Bible for my next Bible class or sermon or just for my devotional life. I read other theological writings, the Book of Concord, Luther, Walther, theological journals, and yes, the occasional blog. But unless I’m preaching or presenting a class or writing a paper based off of my reading, I often do not specifically express and apply what I’m learning. I want to start expressing and applying my study more by writing about it.

The Apostle Paul said, “It is written: “I believed; therefore I have spoken.” With that same spirit of faith we also believe and therefore speak.” (2 Cor. 4:13) I believe, too, and as a pastor I get lots of opportunities to speak. With this blog, it’s my goal to “speak” even more, to sharpen my way of speaking, thinking, and writing. So I’ll post (hopefully fairly regularly) on topics that I’m reading about, studying about, living. They will be mostly connected with my work as a pastor, but not necessarily always.

I invite you to come along with me and read my posts, as your time allows. Comment if you wish. Check out my about page to find out a little more about me. Contact me if you want. But don’t feel guilty if you don’t read it constantly! There are more important things than blogs…
14 thoughts on “Why [Not] Start?

  1. Well put Pastor. Thank you.

    You were kind enough to comment to me when I started my blog a few days ago. Your kindness really did make my day. So I thought I’d come by here to see what you were blogging on.

    I like it. I’ll admit that I have not read every entry. But I did read this post about why you started. And it’s well said.

    Nobody should believe that the world will hang off of their every word. Nor should they make blogging their ambition. But it is a nice way to express yourself to the world. You may even find someone is listening!

    Thanks for being here.

    • Thanks for reading my blog, too! You’re right, we shouldn’t act like our words and thoughts are the most important, but it is nice to know someone’s reading them. Thanks again!

  2. I have a question regarding your Lutheran denominational teachings. First, what denomination are you? Second, do you teach the doctrine of original sin? If so, are babies condemned to hell if not baptized? Do you know what the Missouri Synod position is on these questions? Thank you. I’m not here to debate, only to learn your position.

    • Thanks for your questions. I am a member and pastor in the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod. Yes, we teach original sin, which tells us according to Scripture that all people are conceived and born in sin. We certainly stress baptism for infants because as sinful human beings they have a need for saving faith and forgiveness which is given through baptism. Those who are condemned to hell are those not covered in Jesus’ righteousness by faith. The means God has promised to use to give faith is the gospel (good news of Jesus) in Word and Sacrament. Since we can’t explain to a baby the story of Jesus, baptism is a blessing in that the Holy Spirit is poured out in it. Could God work saving faith in a baby by a way different than baptism? I certainly don’t want to limit God, but the important thing is that he didn’t promise to do it in any other way. Could God use the spoken Word, even though an infant’s brain can’t understand the language, to bring the Holy Spirit to create faith? It’s possible. There are many questionable cases where all we can do is leave the matter in the hands of our loving God. For absolute confidence, however, we look to baptism. I hope that made some sense!

      I don’t pretend to speak for the Missouri Synod, but I believe it would have the same position.

      Thanks again for your questions!

  3. Thank you for your answer. I cannot agree, but I said I was not here to debate this subject, so I don’t want to renege on that. However, I am willing to debate any other doctrine. Are you interested in knowing God’s name. It is given in Exodus 3:15. Many teach, and I suspect that your denomination does as well, that His name is given in Exodus 3:14. But it is not there.

    • 3:14 is the verse where God tells Moses that I AM would send Moses to the Israelites. In 3:15 he uses the Hebrew tetragrammaton, the name written with the letters YHWH, and often written as Yahweh. The name is likely derived from the Hebrew words for “He is” which would make sense connecting with God telling Moses “I AM” was sending him. I don’t know of anyone in my church body who would insist on God’s name being revealed in verse 14 as opposed to verse 15, or vice versa. Thanks for your comments.

  4. Pingback: Writers Write | Pastor Walters Has A Blog

  5. Pingback: Why I Write | Pastor Walters Has A Blog

Leave a Reply

